Metal Mornings 19 Halestorm ‘Freak Like Me – My Women’s March Anthem

It is a few hours before the Women’s March in Washington, DC and I’m listening to today’s song for Metal Mornings, episode 19. As I write this, on this momentous day, marches and protests are happening in cities and towns across the globe. Lzzy Hale’s Freak Like Me, track four from Halestorm’s self-titled full length studio debut, is my chosen anthem for today’s march. This song is a clarion call.  The lyrics are direct and the message is clear and strong, just like Lzzy Hale’s voice. Freak Like Me is a song of strength, of defiance, or resolution in the face of so much negativity and hate. A call to action. Lzzy’s vocal timing and scream give me goosebumps every time I play this song. I may play this everyday for the next four years.

To all those heading out today, stay safe, be yourselves, join together, rise up. Wave your flags, scream aloud, wear those pussyhats, smile, laugh, cry. Drink water and eat something if you can. Protect and look out for one another. We got this! Together!

Freak Like Me by Philadelphia’s finest, Halestorm. Thank you Lzzy Hale.

🖤💖✊️ Aleksa.

“I’m on the train that’s pullin the sick and twisted,
Makin the most of the ride before we get arrested,
We’re all wasted,
And we’re not going home tonight.

Covered in black we lack the social graces,
Just like an animal we crawl out of our cages,
They can’t tame us,
So if you’re one of us, get on the bus

If you’re a freak like me,
Wave your flag!
If you’re a freak like me,
Get off your ass!
It’s our time now,
To let it all hang out

So shout if you’re a freak like me,
You were born to burn,
This is no disease you don’t need a cure!
It’s our time now to come out!
If you’re a freak like me!
If you’re a freak like me!

We’re underground but we will not surrender,
We’re gonna give them something to remember, yeah,
So write your name in gasoline,
And set that shit on fire

If you’re a freak like me,
Wave your flag!
If you’re a freak like me,
Get off your ass!
It’s our time now,
To let it all hang out

So shout if you’re a freak like me,
Don’t apologize,
They can’t hold you down,
You were born to rise!
It’s our time now to come out!

If you’re a freak like me
If you’re a freak like me
Are you a freak like me?
Are you a freak, like, me?!

If you’re a freak like me,
Wave your flag!
If you’re a freak like me,
Get off your ass!
It’s our time now,
To let it all hang out

So shout if you’re a freak like me,
Don’t apologize,
They can’t hold you down,
You were born to rise!
It’s our time now to come out!
If you’re a freak like me!
If you’re a freak like me!
If you’re a freak like me!
If you’re a freak like me!
If you’re a freak like me!”

Leave a Reply

